Skip to content

Avocado Baby

March 20, 2007

Avocado Baby

One thing I miss the most about California is ripe, delicious avocados. Sure, you can get avocados here in Massachussetts, but they are invariably rock hard, stringy, and tasteless. When you do find the occasional good looking avocado, it’s insanely expensive. I’ve resigned myself to a lack of avocados in my life, which has been sad, because one of my favorite snacks in the world is avocado with soy sauce.

I was introduced to this perfect snack by an old housemate, and while it might sound strange initially, you will be as quick a convert as I was. The saltiness of the soy sauce is an excellent complement to the relative blandness of the avocado, and the hole left behind by the pit creates a perfect little dish for the soy sauce. The skin of the avocado is its own bowl, so you really only have to dirty a spoon, and a knife, to cut the thing open.

I heart avocados.

There’re all kinds of healthy fats in the avocado, and while soy sauce isn’t the healthiest thing in the world, you don’t really use a ton of it, so its sodium effects are negligible. At least that’s what I tell myself. The fact of the matter is this was a hard snack to give up, so when I saw actual ripe avocados for only $1.39 (which, yes, I know, is still expensive), I almost jumped in glee. It felt incredibly indulgent to eat this perfect (ok, almost perfect–I am still in Massachussetts) avocado on a cold March afternoon, scraping the last bits of green flesh from the skin with my spoon and relishing every salty smooth bite. I hope the memory lasts awhile–I’m not sure when I’ll find good avocados again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2007 2:55 am

    Someone after my own heart! My favorite avocado snack is having one with garlic salt and lemon juice (lots of both). You should try that, too. And I’ll have to make the soy sauce version. Thanks for the tip.

    –Gina (lindseysluscious.blogspot.com)

  2. Maggie permalink
    March 21, 2007 6:50 pm

    I love bluecheese in my avocado with some olive oil drizzled over it, yum. Laura, I’m sure it’s not easy knowing your uncle has a whole grove of very delicious avocados!
    I could live off these things!

  3. March 22, 2007 6:58 am

    Maggie, I beg my uncle to send me avocados everytime I see him, but I think he forgets. :-( Maybe next time I’m home I can stock up…

  4. March 22, 2007 8:50 am

    Now you’ve turned me on to 2 things I’ve never heard of before! And this sounds as wonderful as the sourdough/chocolate combination! heee!

    I’ll be trying this one too, thanks for sharing the idea! =)

  5. March 22, 2007 10:51 am

    When I was a baby avocado was my absolute favourite, I would always end up with it smeared all over the place!

  6. March 22, 2007 11:20 am

    The inspiration for the title Avocado Baby was actually taken from a favorite book when I was a kid, by John Burningham. Despite loving the book, however, I didn’t start liking avocados until I was 18. I have no idea what took me so long.

  7. August 2, 2007 7:09 am

    Well I bought an Avocado to do a still-life painting. I didn’t know what to do with it after. So I tasted it and thought fish would go nice with it so I opened a tin of Sardines with Piri Piri and sliced the avocado and put the sardines on top. It does seem to work with something a bit salty. Saying that I can’t say I’m a big fan of Avocado, but I’m glad I didn’t waste it :)

  8. April 24, 2009 7:07 pm

    Hi Laura,
    I came across your Avocado Baby post and just had to include the link in my Arbor Day post. I hope you don’t mind. Thank you so much for sharing such an intriguing recipe.

Leave a Reply

