Skip to content

Cheater Ravioli, or Awesome Sauce Lobster Ravioli from Trader Joe’s

July 18, 2007

Lobster Ravioli and Snow Peas

Yesterday I got to borrow the housemate’s car and drive myself out to Trader Joe’s, one of my favorite places in the world and one I don’t get to visit very often, seeing as it’s not very accessible by public transport. Not only did I get to buy cheap vinegar, delicious marinated meat stuffs, and the above pictured lobster ravioli, I got to drive around town all day, revelling in the freedom and glory that is being behind the wheel of a vehicle. God, how I’ve missed it these past four years. God, how I wish I could afford to buy myself a little zippy car to zip around town in. Times like these I am forced to admit that I am a southern California girl at heart, wedded to her  stick shifts and safety belts.

This afternoon of vehicular freedom was allowed provided I could transport Crystal to and from work–a guaranteed two hours’ driving time for me, but also a guaranteed late dinner. By the time we got home it was nearly 9:00 and I wanted something simple, fast, and light (it was very hot and sticky in our apartment).

When I was at Trader Joe’s, I did something unusual and bought lobster ravioli. I’m not sure why. I’ve never had lobster in my life. The one time I saw lobsters, live and about to be plunged into boiling water, it kind of grossed me out, so I’ve avoided them. And avoided things with lobster in them. Now I realize what a silly and bad idea that was. These ravioli were tender, sweet, delicate…and they are pre-made and bought from a market! I can only imagine how delicious they would be if I, say, made them at home. (The wheels have started turning in there already.)

I wanted to make a sauce that would be light and simple, and wouldn’t overpower the lobster, as I’d heard that it is some rich, rich stuff. And I decided snow peas would add an appropriate summery green splash to the dinner plate. I decided to try my hand, yet again, at a cream sauce I learned to make years ago but had never quite perfected. It’s a very light cream sauce made without a roux, and everytime I tried it in the past, the cream would break and the flavors would be all wrong and it was generally a disaster.

Yum

Well this time it wasn’t a disaster at all. I don’t think I followed the technique exactly the way I learned it, as I seem to recall more steps involved, but no matter because this technique worked perfectly. It was simple and fast and very light and very garlicky. Crystal raved on and on about how perfectly it complemented the ravioli and peas, and without tooting my horn too loudly, I had to agree. The best part about this dinner is that it took maybe 15 minutes to put together.

Very Simple Garlicky Cream Sauce

  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. heavy cream
  • salt and pepper

Mince up the garlic a bit, and heat the olive oil over medium-low heat in a medium skillet. When the oil is hot, add the garlic and sautee it for about a minute, or until it just starts to turn a little tiny bit brown. Then add the cream slowly and whisk it a whole bunch until the oil and cream come together and it’s bubbly and creamy. Then remove it from the heat and add a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Obviously, this doesn’t make very much sauce at all and is really just light little flavor layer for whatever pasta you’re making. I bet it would also be pretty good with shrimp or chicken. What I like best about it is that it really takes less than five minutes but seems much more glamorous and luxe than that.

So I’m ready to open the door to lobster and try it out in its pure, un-pasta-fied form. I’m ready to crack open claws and pull out tail meat. And I think for sure I’m going to have to try my hand at lobster ravioli for myself, because these were really incredible.

Now, if I could just cook myself up a car…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2007 1:03 pm

    You’ve been missing out on lobster for so long, it’s truly a food for the gods.

  2. July 22, 2007 8:19 am

    I heart Trader Joe’s too.. probably more than any shopper should love a store. I thought about you the last 2 times I’d been there.. their pizza dough – have you used it yet? It’s SO GOOD! They’ve got your basic white flour dough, a whole wheat flour dough and a garlic & herb dough. We tried the last one and it was scrumptious. I’ve got the plain in my freezer for tonight’s pizza dinner.. can’t wait. I also saw these ravioli and bought them! I’ll most definitely try your sauce with them, as well as the peas.. sounds perfect. =)

    Try them again in a light vodka sauce.. YUM.

    Am glad you are going to try lobster – you won’t be sorry (even though you have to mortgage the house to pay for it) it’s heavenly.

    xoxo

  3. Ashley permalink
    October 3, 2009 2:15 pm

    how wonderful! i was looking for a sauce to make specifically for the lobster ravioli i recently bought at TJ’s. brilliant! thanks!!

  4. November 3, 2009 6:11 pm

    I winged it a bit with a rendition of this and it way too garlicky. So I added some whole milk, then some mozzarella.

  5. February 12, 2010 6:12 am

    try with wild mushrooms yumyum and fresh raviolli all made in advance can knock it together in miniutes:-P cool receipe though tweeked to own taste thanks for sharing it:-)

  6. May 2, 2010 12:14 pm

    Nice thought .This is very useful and nice. Its very help in design.

  7. wnk505 permalink
    October 17, 2010 7:52 am

    I love ravioli from Trader Joe’s their pesto tortellini is also killer

  8. Meg Vandegrift permalink
    October 21, 2010 2:37 pm

    Thank you for this sauce. It was lovely with some crisped up fresh bacon bits.

    • October 21, 2010 5:39 pm

      It is a good one to have in the repertoire: easy, but elegant. It somehow feels special with only three or four ingredients. I love that. (Try it with leeks and thyme…amazing!)

  9. Mark permalink
    November 19, 2010 9:45 pm

    Great post. I bought said Ravioli and was looking for a simple sauce. My T.J’s is about five blocks away and I have three more less than three miles away in the W.L.A. area.
    Good blog style and easy to read. I pasted that simple recipe to my collection and emailed your page to my daughter (close by) and my son in AU. The water is boiling so away I go!
    Good Job!
    MB

Trackbacks

  1. Ravioli worth bleeding for, from Russo & Sons « The Kitchen Illiterate

Leave a Reply

