Skip to content

Spaghetti with Kale and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

January 2, 2009

Spaghetti with Sauteed Kale

This is the dinner that almost wasn’t. I started out with an entirely different meal in mind, one that involved mushrooms and squash and greens. But I baked the squash too long and it became dried out and tasteless, and when I sauteed the mushrooms with the garlic and sun-dried tomatoes the whole mixture very quickly became burnt, bitter, and inedible. Exasperating! I almost resigned myself to eating plain spaghetti with butter when I realize I could probably still salvage the kale and at least get some vegetable matter into my dinner.

And you know what? This turned out surprisingly awesome. The sun-dried tomatoes added a sharp sweetness to the slightly bitter kale, and I finished the whole thing off with a small amount of white balsamic vinegar, which added just the right edge. I love it when a salvaged dinner becomes something delicious in its own right.

Mr. X made a face when I told him I had kale and spaghetti for dinner, and I suppose it doesn’t sound all that spectacular. But I urge you to give it a try. Kale is full of all kinds of good things, you can tell because it is the most brilliant green color even after its been cooked for a bit.

Garlic and Sun dried Tomatoes

Spaghetti with Kale and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  • 1 T. olive oil or canola oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 or 3 sun-dried tomatoes (I used the kind not packed in oil)
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 bunch of kale, chopped (about 3 cups)
  • salt to taste
  • 1 T. white balsamic or white wine vinegar
  • spaghetti
  • parmesan cheese

This is another very, very simple meal. I like simple. While the spaghetti is cooking, heat the oil in a large skillet. You want to use a large one because, while the kale will wilt eventually and become more manageable, it starts out awfully large and needs plenty of space to cook down.

Once the oil is hot, add the garlic, sun-dried tomatoes, and a bit of basil. Saute until the garlic is soft and just barely browning. Then add the kale in handfuls and saute until warmed through and wilted. Finish with salt and a splash of vinegar, then drain the pasta and mix it in. Top with parmesan and you’re set.

Spaghetti with Kale

I may still give my original recipe idea another try. Then again, I might just keep eating this: simple, flavorful, and awfully healthy. How can you go wrong?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 6:31 pm

    I’m so happy that I found your blog completely by accident today! :)
    My daughter has food allergies but a lot of your recipes are things she can eat (and would love) with little or no substitutions. Two of her favorite veggies are kale and tomatoes (I know, she’s a weird 6 yr old)! I can’t wait to make this for her.

  2. Marcus D. permalink
    February 3, 2009 6:55 pm

    Just stumbled on your blog by accident when I was looking for an easy spaghetti recipe. I can’t wait to try out this recipe. It seems right up my alley, as I am usually pretty clueless in the kitchen.

    Also, by starting with these easier recipes, I can better diagnose what utensils and pots/pans I may be missing, and also build up my spice cabinet w/o spending a fortune in one big purchase.

Leave a Reply

