Skip to content

Michael Pollan at TED

February 23, 2009

I’ve talked about Michael Pollan here before. I consider his books some of the most life-changing books I’ve read, and sometimes I feel like I’m on a little personal mission to get everyone in the world to read them. This TED video is a great introduction to his ideas, and to the idea of truly sustainable farming. I grinned the whole time I watched it.

I hope that you’ll pass this video along. Share it with everyone you know! This one is definitely an idea worth spreading.

UPDATE: WordPress won’t let me embed the video from TED, for reasons I can’t quite fathom. You can watch it on the TED website for now. Hopefully I’ll figure out how to embed it when I have more time.

UPDATE AGAIN: The video is available through the YouTubes, which I can embed, so here you go:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 7:09 pm

    thanks..

  2. February 24, 2009 12:37 am

    wordpress.com prevents embed code because it could be dangerous on on a shared hosting platform. But, using WordPress ShortCodes you can embed video from a number of sites, youtube being the most popular.

    TED seems to cross post videos to youtube, so for the MP video you can add the following to the post’s HTML view in the edit posts screen:

    (left bracket)youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQPN1O03z8I(right bracket)

    I didn’t use the [ and ] chars, I figured that would get stipped out by the comments filter.

  3. Christina permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:17 pm

    Thanks for this! I enjoy the TED talks very much. After watching the Pollan one, I stumbled across one by Elizabeth Gilbert, on creativity. I found it resonated with me as a grad student, and you might enjoy it too. (Just go to the TED site — her name is listed there on the front page.)

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

